The NWT observes all Canadian statutory holidays, with the addition of National Aboriginal Day on June 21st.  In total, there are 12 general holidays to note when planning your production schedule in the Northwest Territories (NWT).


Holiday 2017
New Year's Day January 1 (Sunday)
Good Friday April 14 (Friday)
Easter Monday * April 17 (Monday)
Victoria Day May 22 (Monday)
Aboriginal Day * June 21 (Wednesday)
Canada Day July 1 (Saturday)
Labour Day September 4 (Monday)
Thanksgiving Day October 9 (Monday)
Remembrance Day November 11 (Saturday)
Christmas Day December 25 (Monday)
Boxing Day * December 26 (Tuesday)


* indicates that holiday is not necessarily observed by all businesses or Governments in the Northwest Territories .